Poussin's Sacraments

Open daily, 10am-5pm

Admission free

Some rooms will be closed between Monday 12 and Tuesday 20 December to allow us to refresh the artworks on display. Find out more.


Painted in Rome by the French artist Nicolas Poussin, the Seven Sacraments is one of the greatest sets of paintings in the history of Western art. The founder of the classical tradition in French art, Poussin aimed to achieve a noble and pure style of painting, preferring to paint for private patrons who shared his scholarly interests. He was known to have carefully planned his compositions, using wax figures arranged on a model stage to produce the desired effect.

 This series of paintings is remarkable for its clarity, symmetry and quiet restraint, with drama created through gesture and contrasts of light and shade. The Seven Sacraments represents each of the seven holy rites of the Roman Catholic Church: Baptism, Confirmation, Marriage, Penance, Ordination, Holy Eucharist and Extreme Unction. Poussin’s aim in painting the series was to convey the solemn nature and religious learning within each rite.

The second series of the Seven Sacraments was painted for Paul Fréart de Chantelou, a French collector and patron of the arts. Chantelou was a friend of the Italian scholar and collector Cassiano dal Pozzo, who had commissioned the first series from Poussin in the late 1630’s. The situation of each scene in the series within the context of Early Christian History was partly in response to Chantelou’s demands, as well as Poussin’s intellectual interests. Close attention paid to archaeological detail in each of the paintings. When originally displayed, each painting would have been protected with a curtain and viewed individually.

The first version of the Seven Sacraments has since been dispersed. The second version was purchased by the 3rd Duke of Bridgewater in 1798, and forms part of the Bridgewater Collection, on loan to the  Scottish National Gallery since 1945.

Event accessibility

Display accessibility

  • Wheelchair access


Swipe to explore

Gallery facilities

Detailed information on accessibility at the National Galleries of Scotland

We are currently working on improving our galleries. During this time some rooms will be closed and some facilities will be temporarily removed. There will be limited disabled access to some areas.

There is limited on street parking close by including for those with a blue badge.

  • Wifi
  • Wheelchair access
  • Wheelchairs available
  • Lockers (£1/£2)
  • Seating throughout
  • Bike rack
  • Accessible toilets for gallery visitors
  • Baby change for gallery visitors
  • Toilets for gallery visitors
  • Café
  • Restaurant
Getting here

Getting here

The Scottish National Gallery can be found just off Princes Street in the city centre.

Venue map
  • Open daily, 10am-5pm
The Mound, Edinburgh, EH2 2EL

Related Products
Our Friends

Our Friends

Friends of the Galleries get free unlimited entry to all exhibitions, and enjoy a wide range of exclusive benefits including early exhibition access, special events and 10% discount in our cafes.

What's on

Browse what's on at the galleries below, or filter results to narrow your search.

or those for:
Custom date
Access options