Tesco Bank Art Competition for Schools 2013

Thank you for helping us to celebrate our 10th birthday by sending in 11,222 entries. This was an astonishing 81% increase from 2012 and we were delighted to receive work from schools in all 32 council areas.

Each category was judged by a panel of 8 representatives facing an almost impossible task. We had great pleasure in collaborating with Scottish Ballet who will be using a selection of entries as inspiration for the set design of their winter 2013/14 production of Hansel and Gretel.

Awards were made on Wednesday 12th June and a calendar featuring the top winning artworks has been sent to every school in Scotland.

2013 Exhibition

An exhibition of the 53 winning works was on show at the Scottish National Gallery 8 June-27 October 2013 after which it can be seen at the following venues in Scotland.

Royal Hospital for Sick Children, Edinburgh
29 October – 9 January 2014 

Rothes Hall, Fife
13 January – 27 March

High Street, Ayr
29 March – 29 May   

More about this year's exhibition.


Category A Nursery

First place: Craig A. Murray. Balgay Hill Nursery School
Second place: Emma Scott, Duddingston Primary School
Third place: Keira Scott, Priorsford Nursery

Special Merit

Abigail Irving, Duddingston Primary School
Thomas Clancy, The Glasgow Academy
Lenny Heggie, Duddingston Primary School
Marlene Bourbotte, The Hamilton School
Keira Panton, Roseburn Primary School
Freya Anderson, The Kindergarten
Maggie Gillies-Crerar, Levenhall Nursery School

Category B Primary 1-3

First place: Scott Huntly, Dollar Academy
Second place: Cara Woods, Wallace Hall Primary School
Third place: Bailey Ross, Shieldhill Primary School

Special Merit

Molly Adam, Heriot Primary School 
Felix Tanner, George Watson’s College 
Anna Hunter, Kingcase Primary School
Dylan Cameron, Knightsridge Primary School
Adam Blake, George Watson’s College
Eve Burnett, Netherton Primary School 
Imogen Blunt, St Mary’s Melrose

Category C Primary 4-7

First place: Olivia Wilson, Kemnay Primary School
Second place: Robbie Buchan, Auchenblae Primary School
Third place: George Clynes, Loretto Junior School

Special Merit

Connor McLeod, Westruther Primary School
Rachel Colven, Portree Primary School
Emily Trotter, Craigholme School
Haydn Cook, Kirklandneuk Primary School 
Stephen Izzard, Stanecastle School 
Joshua Brown & Oliver Wyllie, Calder Cuilt Primary School 
Charlie Martin, Grandtully Primary School

Category D S1-S2

First place: Daniel Innes, George Heriot’s School
Second place: Kate Millar, George Heriot’s School
Third place: Cosima Wilson, Boroughmuir High School

Special Merit

Alix Mack-Smith, George Watson’s College
Olivia McKenzie, Dollar Academy
Alistair Brown, George Watson’s College
Oliver Murray, Dollar Academy
Lauren Gardner, St Modan’s High School
Tom Keely, Dollar Academy
Clarice Dow, The Gordon Schools

Category E Special Education Schools

First place: Jessica Drummond, Fairview School
Second place: Alice Wilson, St Crispin’s Special School
Third place: Scott Hilson, Royal Blind School

Special Merit

Alex Lansdell & Riley Hargreaves, Dedridge Primary School
Zeinab Yasir-Abbas, Donaldson’s School
Patrick Dooley, Donaldson’s School
Steven Murphy, Hillside School
Dylan Roberts, Braidburn School
Alex Syme, Woodmill High School
Alex Adamson, Donaldson’s School

Category F Group Entry

First place: Girvan Academy
Second place: Fairview School
Third place: Roseburn Primary School