Past: Inspired? Get Writing! Creative Writing Competition 2012/2013

A big thank you to all those who entered this year’s competition. Once again the standard was extremely high making the judging process very difficult.

Inspired? Get writing! is now in its eighth year and we were delighted to  receive 700 entries, not only  from all over Scotland and the UK, but also Hong Kong, Spain, Canada, Kuwait and Nepal. It is wonderful to see that Scotland’s national collection is inspiring people from all over the world.

For those who live a little closer, why not help us celebrate by coming along to the free public readings of the 50 winning entries on Thursday 18th April at the Hawthornden Lecture Theatre, Scottish National Gallery. With prose and poetry from young children and adults, there is sure to be something for everyone to enjoy.

Age Under 12: 10.30-11.30am

Age 12-14 & 15-18 1.30-3pm

Adults Prose & Poetry: 5.30-7pm

Look out for details of how to enter the 2014 competition from September.

The completion is a three way partnership between the National Galleries of Scotland, the English-Speaking Union Scotland and the Scottish Poetry Library. It is supported by the Gordon Fraser Charitable Trust, the Scotsman and The Educational Institute of Scotland.

2013 Winners

Category A

Nathan Ezra-Jackson, 1st Place
Isabella Boyd, Runner-Up
Nathan Ezra-Jackson, Runner-Up
Owen Norman, Special Merit
Annabelle Sherry, Special Merit
Finn Mitchell, Special Merit
Isabella Boyd, Special Merit
Will Leckie, Special Merit
Katrina Gillies, Special Merit
Emma Kohlhagen, Special Merit

Category B

Emma Wright, 1st Place
Eleanor Young, Runner-Up
Stephi Stacey, Runner-Up
Corrie Lawson, Special Merit
Rosie Young, Special Merit
Victoria Toellner, Special Merit
Rachel Tsang, Special Merit
Christopher Adam, Special Merit
Corinne Pope, Special Merit
Flora Smith, Special Merit

Category C

Joe Steel, 1st Place
Eve McLachlan, Runner-Up
Eilidh MacKinnon, Runner-Up
Alex Hardie, Special Merit
Ailsa Purdie, Special Merit
Cara Pacitti, Special Merit
Hannah Tiffney, Special Merit
Issy Arnaud, Special Merit
Abaan Nawab Zaidi, Special Merit
Eoghan McFadden, Special Merit

Category D

Dan Spencer, 1st Place
Olga Wojtas, Runner-Up
Darci Bysouth, Runner-Up
Regina Barry, Special Merit
Sarah Gillam, Special Merit
Andrew Campbell-Kearsey, Special Merit
Ann MacKinnon, Special Merit
Darci Bysouth, Special Merit
Juliet Lovering, Special Merit
Jock Morrison, Special Merit

Category E

Jane Bonnyman, 1st Place
Simon Weller, Runner-Up
Ian McDonough, Runner-Up
Mark O. Goodwin, Special Merit
Rachel WOOLF, Special Merit
Lynda McDonald, Special Merit
Iain Matheson, Special Merit
Marjorie Lotfi Gill, Special Merit
J. A. Sutherland, Special Merit
Rachel WOOF, Special Merit