Past: Inspired? Get Writing! Creative Writing Competition 2011/2012

Inspired? Get writing! 2012 has now been judged with selections made from 1,241 entries submitted from all parts of Scotland and beyond.

Why not help us celebrate by coming along to the free public readings of the 50 winning entries on Thursday 19th April at the Hawthornden Lecture Theatre, Scottish National Gallery? With examples of prose and poetry from young children through to adults there is guaranteed to be something for everyone to enjoy. You can watch the works of art selected brought to life in a very exciting way.

Under 12s: 10.30-11.30am

Age 12-14 & 15-18 1.30-3pm

Adults Prose & Poetry: 5.30-7pm

Look out for details of how to enter the 2013 competition from September.

Category A: Under 12s

First Place: Eleanor Kirkland, Craigclowan Prep School, Perth

Runner Up: Jenny McGuire, Kinnoull Primary School, Perth

Runner Up: Ryan Cummins, Pitcairn Primary School, Perth

Special Merit
Liam Campbell, Port Ellen Primary School, Isle of Islay
Sasha Macquaker, Cargilfield School, Edinburgh
Rhys Aitchison, Pitcairn Primary School, Perth
Scott Murdoch, St. Boswells Primary School, Melrose
Aine Beattie, North Kessock Primary School, Inverness
Rosie Holmes, St. Mary’s Episcopal Primary, Dunblane
Emily Wallace, Cargilfield School, Edinburgh

Category B: Age 12-14

First Place: Evie Clephan, Banchory Academy, Kincardinshire

Runner Up: Jessamy Cowie, Nairn Academy, Nairn

Runner Up: Molly-May Allan, Sanday School, Orkney

Special Merit
Hannah Ledlie, James Gillespie’s High School, Edinburgh
Fiona Brewis, George Heriot’s School, Edinburgh
Kate Harrison, Banchory Academy, Kincardinshire
Bethany Wise, Banchory Academy, Kincardinshire
Lara Mega, Penicuik High School, Midlothian
Jamie Arnaud, Craigclowan Prep School, Perth
Elena Thomas, James Gillespies High School, Edinburgh

Category C: Age 15-18

First Place: Peter Ratter, Brae High School, Shetland

Runner Up: James Gao, Edinburgh

Runner Up: Josie Rogers, Lochgilphead High School, Argyle

Special Merit
Jessica McGoff, High School of Dundee, Dundee
Danilo Falzon, McLaren High School, Callander, Stirling
Roanna Tait, Stewart’s Melville College, Edinburgh
Laura Rutherford, The Mary Erskine School, Edinburgh
Maria Fernandez, The High School of Glasgow, Glasgow
Gregor Gordon Keir, St Columba’s School, Kilmalcolm, Renfrewshire
Leeann Chen, High School of Dundee, Dundee

Category D: Adults - Prose

First Place: Cat Dean, Edinburgh

Runner Up: Michelle Wards, Edinburgh

Runner Up: Margaret Sessa-Hawkins, Edinburgh

Special Merit
Catherine Simpson, Midlothian
Robert Powell, Edinburgh
Carey Morning, Edinburgh
Rosemary Wake, Edinburgh
Helen MacKinven, Stirlingshire
Jerry Simcock, Edinburgh
Norma-Ann Coleman, Midlothian
Ewan Gault, Argyll

Category E: Adults - Poetry

First Place: Iain Matheson, Edinburgh

Runner Up: Ian McDonough, Edinburgh

Runner Up: Dan Spencer, Glasgow

Special Merit
Greg Michaelson, Edinburgh
J. A. Sutherland, Edinburgh
Lesley Harrison, Angus
Joan Lennon, Newport-on-Tay, Fife
Sheena Blackhall, Aberdeen
Joanna Lilley, Canada