Past: Art Competition for Schools 2011

2011 Competition Winners

Many congratulations to all the winners in this year’s competition! Well done and thank you to all those who took the time and trouble to enter.

A record-breaking 5,895 entries were received this year with winners coming from across Scotland including Irvine, the Isle of Lewis, and Buckhaven.

The exhibition of 53 wonderful winning works will be on show at the Scottish National Gallery from 11 June – 19 October 2011. The show will then tour to other venues in Scotland. Details for this will be announced later in the year along with information about next year’s competition.

A calendar for 2012 featuring the work of the top winners will be sent to every school in Scotland. It will also be for sale in all the gallery shops.

Category A: Nursery, 'Celebrate!'

Winning schools:

  • Castleview Primary Nursery
  • Levenhall Nursery School
  • Roseburn Primary School
  • Mr Squirrels Nursery
  • Knightsridge Early Years Centre
  • The Hamilton School
  • The Kindergarten
  • Stockbridge Primary School

1st Place Dylan McCallum

2nd Place Cassie Blake

3rd Place Lily Asieh Soudagar

Special Merit Lewis Gillies

Special Merit Calum MacLennan

Special Merit Logan Clapperton

Special Merit Du Du Wan

Special Merit Megan Philip

Special Merit Ethan Hunter

Special Merit Eleece Inverarity

Category B: Primary 1 to Primary 3, 'Splish, Splash, Splosh!'

Winning schools:

  • Knightsridge Primary School
  • Prospect Bank School
  • George Watson’s College
  • The Hamilton School
  • Balfron Primary School
  • Kellholm Primary School
  • Breasclete School
  • Roseburn Primary School
  • Newtongrange Primary School

1st Place Jack Wilson

2nd Place Kyle McGeechan

3rd Place Ali El-Marsafawy

Special Merit Julia Pleasance

Special Merit Armani Crosbie

Special Merit Sarah Ann Murray

Special Merit Sam Worley

Special Merit Jordan Markey

Special Merit Leo Sheridan

Special Merit Cara Constable

Category C: Primary 4 to Primary 7, 'Super Shoes - Higher, Faster, Further'

Winning schools:

  • Craigclowan School
  • Belmont House School
  • Lathallan School
  • Portree Primary School
  • Heathhall Primary School
  • George Watson’s College
  • Dollar Academy
  • Donibristle Primary School
  • Milnagavie Primary School
  • Stewart’s Melville College

1st Place Peter Laing

2nd Place Robbie Campbell

3rd Place Andrew Marsden

Special Merit Gilleasbuig Macvicar

Special Merit Sky McMahon

Special Merit Jamie Boyd

Special Merit Alex Fleming

Special Merit Sophie Beaton

Special Merit Troy Kincaid

Special Merit Oceanna Black

Category D: S1 and S2, 'Move Your Body'

Winning Schools:

  • Dollar Academy
  • George Watson’s College
  • Perth Academy
  • Penicuik High School
  • Belmont House School
  • The Mary Erskine School
  • Boroughmuir High School

1st Place Sophie Ward

2nd Place Jenna Walker

3rd Place Kirill Chernick

Special Merit Olivia Graham

Special Merit Catalina Runcie

Special Merit Bobby Crockart

Special Merit Clare Masson

Special Merit Jonathan Stark

Special Merit Joshua Fried

Special Merit Abbas Hashmi

Category E: Special Education Schools, 'Traces, Tracks and Trails'

Winning schools:

  • St Kevin’s Primary School
  • St Crispin’s School
  • Oaklands
  • Braidburn
  • Hillside School
  • Buckhaven High School
  • Westfield School

1st Place Dawid Stepien

2nd Place Peter Carruthers

3rd Place Ali Middlemas

Special Merit Lewis Youngs

Special Merit Rhys Smith

Special Merit Alice Wilson

Special Merit Steinar Sanderson

Special Merit Zak Barker

Special Merit Daniel McHardy

Special Merit Alastair Elliott

Category F: Group Entry

1st Place Roseburn Primary School

2nd Place Knightsridge Primary School

3rd Place Stanecastle School