Past: Art Competition for Schools 2010

Congratulations to all the winners in this year’s National Galleries of Scotland Art Competition for Schools 2010 sponsored by Scottish Widows.

5,303 entries were received from Scottish nursery, primary, secondary and special education schools with hundreds of robots, pet animals and fantastical architectural creations for the judges to enjoy.

Entries arrived from tiny schools with only 15 pupils and from far away places such as North Uist and Orkney making it a truly national competition.

The Art Competition for Schools 2010 exhibition is now on tour. Currently, you can see the 53 wonderful winning works on show at Glasgow University, Eldon Street until 5th June 2011.

A beautiful calendar featuring the work of the top three winners in each category will be sent free to every school in Scotland. It will also be available for sale at all the gallery shops.

Category A: Nursery, 'A Pet for Me'

1st: Morgan Williams, Livingston
2nd: Dominic Van Zelm, Aberdeen
3rd: Calum Wright, Edinburgh
Special Merit: Logan Blain, Edinburgh
Special Merit: Cara McKean, Milton of Campsie
Special Merit: Georgina Elson, Aberdeen
Special Merit: Chilli Holt, Edinburgh
Special Merit: Devan Appleby, Edinburgh
Special Merit: Chloe Robertson, Musselburgh
Special Merit: Abbie Page, Edinburgh

Category B: Primary 1 to Primary 3, 'Meet My Friend the Robot!'

1st: Morgan MacLean, Portree
2nd: Daniel Beaton, Argyll
3rd: Tyrone Laurie, Livingston
Special Merit: Innes Watt, Blackburn
Special Merit: Sabah-Akhter Mehmood, Edinburgh
Special Merit: Daisy Urquhart-Dixon, Isle of Arran
Special Merit: Pippa Meek, Bearsden
Special Merit: Laura Morrison, Isle of Skye
Special Merit: Madeleine Law, Broadford
Special Merit: Eleanor Trace, Clackmannanshire

Category C: Primary 4 to Primary 7, 'King or Queen of the Castle'

1st: Kate Ireland/Lisa Gavienas, Clarkston
2nd: Eilidh Cameron, Pathead
3rd: Ross Kearney, Hamilton
Special Merit: Tirek Korner, Argyll
Special Merit: Olivia Mears, Clackmannanshire
Special Merit: Rhiannon Dingwall, Sanquhar
Special Merit: Angus Collison, Lockerbie
Special Merit: Ruby Tabor, Melrose
Special Merit: Cameron Redpath, Pathead
Special Merit: Sam Miller, Edinburgh

Category D: S1 and S2, 'Head Sculpture'

1st: Emma Buchanan, Clackmannanshire
2nd: Magnus Macfarlane, Edinburgh
3rd: Jasmine Gordon, Perth
Special Merit: Luke Shepherd, Arbroath
Special Merit: Ciara Sloane, Clackmannanshire
Special Merit: Shanine Gallager, Acharacle
Special Merit: Niamh Mackenzie, Ross-shire
Special Merit: Angus Hardie, Edinburgh
Special Merit: Lauren Carlin, Stewarton
Special Merit: Anna Haas, Edinburgh

Category E: Special Education Schools, 'Let There Be Light'

1st: Sylwia Kolanka, Edinburgh
2nd: Richard Muir, Sighthill
3rd: Ayesha Chappell, Linwood
Special Merit: Jamie Kamal, Edinburgh
Special Merit: Koleta Brozek, Edinburgh
Special Merit: Craig Borthwick, Edinburgh
Special Merit: Dylan Conway, Edinburgh
Special Merit: Mohsam Hassam, Sighthill
Special Merit: Jo Mallows & Lewis Brown, Perth
Special Merit: David Duffy, Ardrossan

Category F: Group Entry

1st: Stanecastle School, Irvine
2nd: Tynewater Primary School, Midlothian
3rd: Hillside School, Aberdour