Inspired? Get Writing! Creative Writing Competition 2013/2014

A big thank you to all those who entered this year’s competition. Once again the standard was extremely high making the judging process very difficult.

Inspired? Get writing! is now in its ninth year and we were delighted to  receive almost 700 entries, not only  from all over Scotland and the UK, but also Korea, USA and the Netherlands. It is wonderful to see that Scotland’s national collection is inspiring people from all over the world.

For those who live a little closer, why not help us celebrate by coming along to the free public readings of the 50 winning entries on Thursday 17th April at the Hawthornden Lecture Theatre, Scottish National Gallery. With prose and poetry from young children and adults, there is sure to be something for everyone to enjoy.

Age Under 12: 10.30-11.30am

Age 12-14 & 15-18 1.30-3pm

Adults Prose & Poetry: 5.30-7pm

The completion is a three way partnership between the National Galleries of Scotland, the English-Speaking Union Scotland and the Scottish Poetry Library. It is supported by the Gordon Fraser Charitable Trust, the Scotsman and The Educational Institute of Scotland.

2014 Winners

Category A

Adam Balfour, 1st Place
Beth Maxwell, Runner-Up
Abbie Morris, Runner-Up
Emma Fraser, Special Merit
Conor Mullen, Special Merit
Katie Forsyth, Special Merit
Jennifer Wesley, Special Merit
Kyle Jordan, Special Merit
Tahnée Kirk, Special Merit
Asher Borthwick, Special Merit

Category B

Milly Parker, 1st Place
Isabella Boyd, Runner-Up
Sarah Bennett, Runner-Up
Jamie Arnaud, Special Merit
Tabitha Gibb, Special Merit
Joscelyn Hyam, Special Merit
Morven Strong, Special Merit
Jamie Campbell, Special Merit
Alan O'Neill, Special Merit
Jasna Deas Mason, Special Merit
Annabelle Sherry, Special Merit
Katie Yoon, Special Merit
Mairi Taylor, Special Merit
Hazel Morris, Special Merit

Category C

Molly Watson, 1st Place
Joe Steel, Runner-Up
Jessamy Cowie, Runner-Up
Jessamy Cowie, Special Merit
Madison Rennie, Special Merit

Category D

Zoe Storrie, 1st Place
Lien van Horen, Runner-Up
Andrew Stoba, Runner-Up
Margaret Sessa-Hawkins, Special Merit
David Mathews, Special Merit
Melanie Henderson, Special Merit
J.A. Sutherland, Special Merit
Emma Halliday, Special Merit
Jane Cooper, Special Merit
Fran Brady, Special Merit

Category E

Marjorie Lofti Gill, 1st Place
 Helen Addy, Runner-Up
Jean Taylor, Runner-Up
Ellen Stronach, Special Merit
Ann MacKinnon, Special Merit
Sheena Blackhall, Special Merit
Ruth Aylett, Special Merit
Lynda McDonald, Special Merit
Jean Taylor, Special Merit
Lynda McDonald, Special Merit