About this artwork

The two upper scenes are badly worn but can still be identified. In the Last Supper the loyal disciples are shown grouped around the table, with John the Evangelist sleeping at Christ's side. Judas, however, who will betray Christ, is in the foreground, isolated from the others by the positioning of the benches. Christ appears twice in the next scene, the Agony in the Garden: praying on the Mount of Olives and gently chastising Peter for falling asleep. Below are the later episodes of his Crucifixion and the Pietà, the mourning over the dead Christ once he has been brought down from the Cross.

Updated before 2020

  • artist:
  • title:
    Twenty Scenes from the Life of Christ [scenes 3 and 4 above; scenes 13 and 14 below]
  • date created:
    15th century
  • materials:
    Oil on panel
  • measurements:
    126.00 x 106.50 cm
  • object type:
  • credit line:
    Presented by the National Museums of Scotland 1936
  • accession number:
    NG 2310 B
  • gallery:
  • depicted:
  • subject:
Does this text contain inaccurate information or language that you feel we should improve or change? Tell us what you think.